Witchy Woman

For as long as I can remember, I’ve always been interested in witches. My very first Halloween costume was this black and red feathered witch costume, there’s a photo of me at six years old standing on my aunt’s porch with a terrified look on my face because it was my first time celebrating Halloween. I remember being 10 years old and waking up in the middle of the night to catch the witch episodes of Truth or Scare. Why I didn’t just DVR it and watch it during the daytime is beyond me. I think I liked making a ritual of it, waking up at 3am and lighting a candle, tuning into Michelle Trachtenberg’s haunting voice talking about the Salem witches. So you can understand where I’m coming from, when at 13 years old I saw Practical Magic and became obsessed. Badass witch sisters get revenge on an abuser and find true love in friendship, all with spell books and humor? Count me in.

screenshot-2016-09-19-at-8-18-51-pm
Sally longs for love like I long to be able to light candles like this.

There’s this scene towards the end of the film where one of the non-witches is describing a moment where she dreamed her daughter was calling for her even though she was across town and Aunt Jet (Stockard Channing) says to her, “There’s a little witch in all of us”. That really stuck with me. So here’s to our inner witchy woman.

screenshot-2016-09-19-at-8-20-21-pm
Please leave your shoes and negativity at the door, thank you.

Have you ever looked up at the moon and felt like it was trying to say something to you?

screenshot-2016-09-19-at-8-16-34-pm
To quote a seventies legend, “she got the moon in her eye”.

Have you ever wished so hard for something to happen, that when it happened you were certainΒ you had willed it so?

screenshot-2016-09-19-at-7-44-49-pm

Have you ever had a dream predicting an ordinary moment in life, recalling it days, maybe even months or years later as it happened with a strong sense of deja vu?

screenshot-2016-09-19-at-8-08-53-pm

Have you ever physically ached for someone?Β No matter the distance, feeling connected to them?

screenshot-2016-09-19-at-7-51-44-pm

Have you everΒ used nature to communicate? I mean with yourself, but hey, maybe you’ve perfected carrier leaves like our girl Sally.

screenshot-2016-09-19-at-8-43-37-pm
I hope the long distance fees are worth it.

Or maybe it’s about the magic we make happen for ourselves.

screenshot-2016-09-19-at-7-40-45-pm
Whether we dress up as angels…
screenshot-2016-10-31-at-3-59-16-am
or show off our inner witch.

πŸ–€Β Some of my other favorite witch moviesΒ πŸ–€

Teen Witch // Hocus Pocus // Halloweentown // BewitchedΒ 

screenshot-2016-09-19-at-8-30-02-pm
May your Halloween night be LIT!

Happy Halloween! Happy New Year to my witches!

 

Also, I leave you with probably my favorite Eagles song.

One comment

Talk to Me!

