2017 Reading Challenge: January

When I was a kid, I read books like crazy. I was an only child and there’s only so much to TiVo when all you watch is Nickelodeon. My parents gave me books like candy. I stopped reading for fun sometime during high school, I took AP classes and it just sucked the fun out of reading for me. So I recently made a Goodreads account and I’m taking the 2017 Reading Challenge to get back into the swing of reading regularly. I set my goal at 100 books but we’ll see how that goes.

a5bfd995-0557-4dd0-8f55-78be14f6ab72

These are some of the books I want to get around to reading in January, if I happen to pick up some other books then so be it.

1.) The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood- I read this book back in high school and I remember enjoying it but being frustrated. The other day I saw that Hulu is making a short series based on the book so I want to refresh my memory before the show airs.

2.) Juanita: The Madcap Adventures of a Legendary Restaurateur by Sally Hayton-Keeva – Okay, I actually started reading this book back in December in the car on the way to Disneyland but my boyfriend swiped it and I never got to finish it.

3.) Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden- I’ve picked up two copies of it over the years and yet haven’t read even a single page.

4.) A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini

5-6.) To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han- I love this book and I’m so excited to finally get to read the sequel (P.S. I Still Love You) when it comes out in paperback later this month. I don’t really care for book jackets and I couldn’t have the second book NOT MATCH the first.

7.) Bitch: In Praise of Difficult Women by Elizabeth Wurtzel- Omg, I’ve never been able to get through this beast of a book. I picked it up thinking I would like it because I enjoyed Prozac Nation (the film based on Wurtzel’s memoir of the same name), but I just can’t make it through over 76543 pages of Wurtzel’s self-indulgent drivel. Maybe fifth time’s the charm?

8.) Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) by Mindy Kaling- Mindy Kaling is hilarious and insightful. I’m dying to reread this book and burn a week’s worth of calories in belly laughs while snacking on veggie straws (or let’s be real, cookies).

9.) Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews- I have only the slightest inkling of what goes on in this book. I picked it up on a whim one day at Target and it’s just been collecting dust on my shelf since.

10.) Wild card? I want to read at least 10 books this month and while I’ve read almost half of this list, I’d like to leave a bit of surprise left. I’m not sure if I’m thinking well thumbed tweenhood favorite or dusty neo-classic.

0f3f4378-aa64-452c-b348-62c77a55cb24

I’d like to remind you that while all my links are new, shiny books from big brand stores, I prefer hunting for books in thrift stores and shopping used online. A tiny smudge or some dog-eared pages aren’t that a big deal. Not only are the books less expensive but it’s more environmentally friendly. Another great option is using your local public library, because how many books do you really need to own? Just something to keep in mind. *

Talk to Me!

