2017 The Academy Awards Best Dressed

I’m not going to lie, I didn’t watch the Oscars or any Oscar nominated movies. I actually never go to the movie theater, I’m always super late to watch current film releases. That doesn’t mean I can escape the red carpet fashion! This is honestly the only awards show I pay any attention to, solely because the drama department I was part of in high school went crazy over the Oscars. Our annual banquet event was called The Oscars and attendees would receive little trophies. If you’re thinking our drama department was a bit extra, you would not be wrong.

Here are my favorite outfits of the night!

kirsten-dunst-christian-dior
Kirsten Dunst in vintage Christian Dior

The real stunner of Dunst’s outfit is the Niwaka diamond necklace. It adds something special to the otherwise very classic 50’s silhouette dress and simple accessories.

kerri-higuchi
John Cho and Kerri Higuchi in ?

I have no idea who Kerri Higuchi is wearing, I can’t find it anywhere. White was really trending on the red carpet this season and I honestly hated it. Except this dress, it’s fresh and airy, and it doesn’t wash Higuchi out.

busy-phillips-in-elizabeth-kennedy
Busy Philipps in Elizabeth Kennedy

I love Busy Philipps and I love this emeraldΒ velvet dress with sheer polka dot inset. She looks gorgeous and her eyes look so striking. Good on her for her lil’ ACLU ribbon.

terrence-howard-mira-pak
Terrence Howard in La Perla and Mira Pak

I find men’s fashion really boring most of the time. Like, honestly a black suit is just a black suit whether it’s Georgio Armani or Mossimo. Howard’s custom made satin smoking jacket is from La Perla and I’m seriously coveting it.

chrissy-t-in-zuhair-murad
Chrissy Teigan in Zuhair Murad

I know I was just complaining about white on the red carpet, but how could I not make the exception for this beautiful beaded Zuhair Murad creation? Are you kidding me with the beaded shoulder pads? Love it, and love that Chrissy T. fell asleep during the Oscars.

shohreh-aghdashloo
Shohreh Aghdashloo in ?

Speaking of beading, I love the black glimmering ripples on this dress, I wish I could find who it was by! It fits Aghdashloo beautifully and she looks timeless.

chris-evans-oscars
Chris Evans in Salvatore Ferragamo

My eyes had glossed over a sea of black tuxes when they landed on this lustrous Persian blue tux. A tear slipped from my eye as I took in the velvet bow tie & Evans’ dreamy blue eyes.

octavia-spencer-in-marchesa
Octavia Spencer in Marchesa

A feathery icy cloud of a smoky blue dream.

emma-roberts-in-vintage-georgio-armani
Emma Roberts in vintage Armani Prive

I’m not feeling the cool red lip and warm copper hair, I think a peachy coral would have suited the look better. I love the neckline, and the contrast of beading and lace.

brie-larson-in-oscar-de-la-renta
Brie Larson in Oscar de la Renta

I loved this velvet gown, it immediately brought to mind the infamous Madame X painting by John Singer Sargent. The bodice and necklace of the dress seem directly inspired by it. I adore the big, sweeping ruffles but I wish her nails had a pop of color on them.

leslie-mann-zac-posen
Leslie Mann in Zac Posen

Ooh, this billowing taffeta confection looks so lovely on Leslie Mann. It’s cheery and bright, I love the chartreuse color.

auilii-cravalho-rubin-singer
Auli’i Cravalho in Rubin Singer

I can’t believe she’s only 16! She looks beautiful in this gown that’s both faintly reminiscent of seashells and Pegasus wings. It’s so ethereal and the intricate pleating of sheer layers looks so effortless. It’s an amazing look for her first Oscars.

Honorable Mentions

Emma Stone & Dakota Johnson’s Planned Parenthood pins. Just the pins, their looks were hideous. I truly don’t understand their idea of “silent” support. You could barely see the pins and otherwise had no idea they were for Planned Parenthood. Be loud and proud or go home.

black-signature

Did I miss your favorite looks? Feel like any of these were total misses? Β Let me know in the comments below!

Twitter // Instagram // Youtube

Talk to Me!

