March Musings

March went by so fast for me! I just started a new job in retail, it’s my first time in retail so I’ve been really throwing myself into it. I’m exhausted, to say the least.

Life 🌡

As I’ve mentioned before, I don’t drive so I’ve been using public transit for the first time in four years. The real shock is walking everywhere. Wait, no, the real shock to my system is having to interact with strangers! I’m a very shy person and I avoid having to interact with strangers. My boyfriend orders for me at restaurants, I email companies instead of calling them on the phone, and I literally will not make eye contact with strangers. So all month I’ve been breaking out of my shell and interacting with people and it’s been… alright.

8FB532A9-914C-4282-AA36-6A68C4864CF5
during my first 15 minute break, my second week of work

Media Β πŸ“Ί

Jens Lekman “What’s That Perfume That You Wear?” πŸ‘ƒπŸ½

I spent about 20 minute trying to find this song because the only part that ever gets stuck in my head is the very first line of the chorus (that sandalwoooood *calypso beats*). It plays all the time at work and inevitably the only time I’m paying attention to the music is when the chorus of this song is on. I don’t even know what sandalwood smells like.

Lana Del Rey “Some Things Last a Long Time” Β πŸ“Έ

I heard this cover when it first came out and completely forgot about it since.Β Every time I hear it, I either get a montage of high school memories and pictures of my friends all over my walls and a picture of me on my best friend’s wall that once we had a falling out I remember writing “Do you still have that polaroid of me up on your wall?” and never knowing, or spliced together clips of me and Sam over the years and enjoying life together in that cheesy romantic-comedy way, 100 proof smiles and violet-tinted reminiscences.

Screenshot 2017-03-31 at 5.05.08 AM
I wondered about it twice, apparently. Taken from my tumblr.

Food 🍽️

blueberriesΒ πŸ”΅

I recently retried blueberries (after being inspired by last month’s fruit) and I’m in love with blueberries now. I guess I’d never tried ripe blueberries before because I always wondered why they were so bitter and otherwise flavorless. They’re not, they’re sweet little flavor blasts! I’ve been munching on them as a quick pick-me-up before work.

sushi 🍣

I actually should have included this last month, when I finally tried sushi for the first time, but I totally forgot. This month I finally tried sushi with fish in it! So far I’d just been eating vegetarian sushi (cucumber, cream cheese, jalapeno, spicy mayo) but I tried a crab roll the other day and I liked it! I tried two different ones, one was just crab, cucumber & avocado, the other had crunchy tempura flakes and sesame seeds on top. I really liked it! Just the fact that I’m not even sure what was in it was a big step for me, I normally will not eat something if I don’t have a specific list of what’s in it. Sam had this spicy tuna roll with salmon roe on it and he wanted me to try it and I was like, “I’ve been adventurous enough today, thank you”.

Yes, I’m an absolute child.

Reading πŸ“š

Gatsby’s Girl by Caroline PrestonΒ πŸ‘§πŸ»

One of my favorite books I had to read in high school was The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald so when I saw this fictionalized retelling of the romance between him and the girl who inspired Daisy Buchanan, I snatched it up. It was such a lovely, luscious read that transports you to another time. I’m so glad society is nothing like the early 20th century though, way too fussy and uptight. I picked up This Side of Paradise first but I hadn’t gotten around to it yet. It will be interesting to read it with Gatsby’s Girl‘s frame of reference in mind.

Halcyon GirlsΒ πŸ‘©β€πŸ‘©β€πŸ‘§β€πŸ‘§ + Seafoam 🌊

I’ve been loving all of Maddie and Abby’s posts lately! They’ve posted some beautifully written and curated pieces, and have been super excited about The Restless Times, a new project they’ve been working on. They make me super inspired to blog about what I truly love.

Screenshot 2017-04-11 at 1.03.24 AM - Edited
From Seafoaming, Damp Hair and Love

 

Learning to Love Myself After Breaking My Own HeartΒ πŸ’”

by Kaylina Velez of Lavender HeartsΒ πŸ’œ

Favorite line:

"i’m sorry.

and i wrote that over and over again."

That’s about it for March. From my delightful love bubble of last month I was borne into the retail hell of a playlist consisting of only 20 songs played on an unending loop.

olive green signature

twitter | instagram | beauty

8 comments

  1. I’m not a huge blueberry fan but apparently they’re really good at boosting your memory so I only ever eat them in the run up to exams!
    Love the sound of Gatsby’s Girl too, TGG is one of my all time favourite novels!
    Claire xo

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Gatsby’s Girl sounds just like the kind of book I would love! I’m definitely going to be on the look out for it now! Xx

    Kirsty | The Monday Project | themondayproject.co.uk

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to Me!

